Graded Card Slab Dimensions: PSA, Beckett (BGS), CGC, SGC & TAG
Collector reference · Bare graded holders
Compare PSA, Beckett Grading Services (BGS), CGC, SGC, TAG and ARS slab dimensions in millimeters and inches, with front-and-side diagrams and practical notes for sleeves, storage boxes and displays.
By PrismGuard Pro · Sources checked October 23, 2026 · Outside dimensions, not card sizes
Graded card slab size comparison
Start here for a quick reference. An unspecified thickness is a gap in the cited official specification—not a zero. For a close-fitting accessory, check the complete holder rather than relying on a rounded chart.
| Grader / holder | Millimeters | Inches | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| PSAStandard sample | 135.75 × 80.25 × 6.25mm | 5.344 × 3.159 × 0.246inches, rounded | Third-party measurement |
| BGS / BeckettStandard sample | 130.75 × 83 × 8.5mm | 5.148 × 3.268 × 0.335inches, rounded | Third-party measurement |
| CGC CardsPublished standard footprint | 134.62 × 80.01 × not specifiedmm | 5.3 × 3.15 × not specifiedinches, rounded | Official approximate size |
| SGCStandard sample | 138.5 × 86.25 × 8.5mm | 5.453 × 3.396 × 0.335inches, rounded | Third-party measurement |
| TAGPublished standard footprint | 133.35 × 79.38 × not specifiedmm | 5.25 × 3.125 × not specifiedinches, rounded | Official published size |
| ARSOriginal Protect Holder | 131 × 84 × 11mm | 5.157 × 3.307 × 0.433inches, rounded | Official published dimensions |
PSA, BGS and SGC sample measurements: Card Capsule’s published caliper study (three samples per holder type; production dates not identified). PrismGuard Pro has not independently remeasured those samples. CGC, TAG and ARS values come from the graders’ own pages. Unit conversion uses 25.4 mm per inch; extra decimal places do not establish manufacturing tolerances.
Standard sample
PSA slab dimensions
This is a measured standard-holder sample, not a specification for every PSA generation. The separately documented 25–40pt holder below has different published dimensions.
Read the third-party measurement source · Checked October 23, 2026
Standard sample
Beckett (BGS) slab dimensions
The standard Beckett Grading Services (BGS) sample measures 130.75 mm high × 83 mm wide × 8.5 mm thick (approximately 5.148 × 3.268 × 0.335 inches). These are Card Capsule’s third-party measurements of bare holders, not Beckett manufacturing specifications or the dimensions of a PrismGuard case.
Use this as a reference for a standard BGS holder. Do not transfer these measurements to BVG, BCCG, Beckett autograph encapsulation, thick-card or oversized formats without checking the actual holder.
Read the third-party measurement source · Checked October 23, 2026
Published standard footprint
CGC Cards slab dimensions
CGC publishes an approximate 3.15-inch width and 5.30-inch height. Its cited FAQ does not specify outside thickness. Do not combine those nominal dimensions with an unrelated thickness measurement and call the result an official specification.
Read the official approximate size source · Checked October 23, 2026
CGC and older CSG holders should be identified by holder version, not just label color. Check thickness before choosing a fitted accessory.
Standard sample
SGC slab dimensions
The measured standard sample is a storage reference, not a specification for all SGC holders. Older and oversized versions require separate checks.
Read the third-party measurement source · Checked October 23, 2026
Published standard footprint
TAG slab dimensions
TAG lists a 5.25 × 3.125-inch standard slab for trading cards up to 50pt. That 50pt limit describes the card, not the outside thickness of its holder. Outside thickness is not specified in the cited article.
Read the official published size source · Checked October 23, 2026
Original Protect Holder
ARS slab dimensions
ARS publishes all three outside dimensions and notes that manufacturing conditions can cause slight variation. The diagram uses a generic interior and is not a replica of the ARS label or seal.
Read the official published dimensions source · Checked October 23, 2026
Thick, tallboy, older and other grading holders
PSA’s documented 25–40pt holder
PSA’s May 22, 2023 announcement specifies an exterior of 5.32 × 3.16 × 0.27 inches H × W × T (about 135.13 × 80.26 × 6.86 mm) for its thinner holder accommodating 25–40pt cards. That is a specific holder description, not a universal PSA slab specification. Read PSA’s holder announcement.
Why other published measurements can differ
CGC and TAG’s official footprints differ from some independently measured samples. Rounded nominal sizes, holder generations and measurement technique can all affect a comparison; the sources here do not establish which explanation accounts for each difference. We retain the official footprint and leave unspecified thickness visible instead of creating a hybrid “official” specification.
Thick-card, tallboy, booklet, ticket and jumbo holders need their own measurements. “Standard card” describes the item inside; it does not prove the outside shell matches another slab. For an older holder, identify the grading service, holder generation and maximum outside depth before buying a fitted accessory.
ACE, KSA, MNT, HGA, GMA and legacy CSG
These are part of the wider holder landscape, but we do not yet have sufficiently documented, version-specific exterior measurements to put them in the verified comparison. Unattributed charts and approximate online listings are not enough for a reliable fit reference. Send an official specification or a documented caliper measurement to help expand this guide. No universal “all slabs” size is implied.
How to measure a graded card slab for a case or display
- Identify the holder. Record the grader, approximate generation and standard, thick or oversized format. Keep the slab sealed.
- Measure the maximum outside height and width. Include projecting edges and lips. Measure the holder, not its inner card window.
- Measure the thickest point. Check raised rims and interlocking features; a flat center reading may miss them.
- Include what you actually store. A sleeve or outer protector changes the space required. Use the fully assembled item when sizing a stand or storage compartment.
- Check usable clearance. Compare with the accessory’s internal dimensions, openings and supported holder versions. Do not force a slab into a tight frame. Custom foam and 3D-printed parts need a test fit before a full batch.
For stacked storage, measure a real stack in the intended orientation. Interlocking edges can make stack depth different from the number of slabs multiplied by one slab’s maximum thickness.
Slab dimension questions collectors ask
How big is a PSA slab in millimeters and inches?
The PSA row and diagram show a published standard sample in both units. PSA also publishes a different size for its specific 25–40pt holder, listed above. Choose the figure that describes your holder; do not treat a single sample as a specification for every PSA slab.
What does BGS stand for?
BGS stands for Beckett Grading Services. This guide uses Beckett and BGS for the standard BGS holder; BVG, BCCG and other Beckett formats need separate size checks.
Are PSA and Beckett (BGS) slabs the same size?
No. Use separate PSA and BGS dimensions and holder-specific accessories. Similar overall appearance does not establish interchangeable thickness, corners or edge profiles.
Will a CGC slab fit a PSA case?
Similar height and width alone do not establish a fit. Holder thickness and edge shape matter. For PrismGuard Pro, check the standard CGC fit with included PerfectFit strips and confirm your holder version. Strips adjust clearance; they cannot make an oversized holder fit.
Are Pokémon slabs different sizes from sports-card slabs?
Choose by the grading company and holder format, not simply by the game or sport. A standard Pokémon card and a standard sports card can use the same format, while unusually thick or oversized cards may require a different shell.
Does 35pt mean the slab is 35 points thick?
No. A card-thickness rating describes the card a holder accepts, not the holder’s outside depth. One point is 0.001 inch, so 35pt is 0.035 inch (0.889 mm) of card thickness.
Can I use these diagrams as a cutting or 3D-printing template?
No. The diagrams explain outside measurements; their internal geometry is illustrative, and they are not life-size CAD drawings. Corner radii, lips, recesses and production tolerances are not specified. Measure the actual holder and test the finished fit.
Why is slab thickness missing for CGC and TAG?
The official sources cited here give a footprint without an outside-thickness specification. We show that limitation rather than labeling a separate sample measurement as an official dimension.
Optional: protect the holder
Cases for compatible PSA, BGS and CGC slabs
The dimensions above describe bare grading-company slabs. PrismGuard Pro sells separate outer cases; those products are not shown in the diagrams and are not included in the measurements.
Sources and how this guide is maintained
We prioritize official exterior specifications, then clearly attributed first-hand measurements. We do not infer slab size from card capacity, product photos or accessory dimensions. All listed sources were checked on October 23, 2026; this is a source-check date, not the date a slab was manufactured or measured.
- Card Capsule: original caliper measurements of standard PSA, BGS and SGC samples
- CGC: official holder dimensions FAQ
- TAG: official standard slab features and footprint
- ARS: official holder height, width and depth
- PSA: May 2023 holder announcement for 25–40pt cards
PrismGuard Pro is an accessory seller, not a grading company. Original diagrams are explanatory illustrations and do not imply grader endorsement. We welcome corrections supported by an official source or measurements identifying the holder version.
Report a correction or ask a fit question · Compare grading prices and turnaround estimates · Read Hobby Brief