Card Grading Comparison: PSA, BGS, CGC, SGC & TAG

Collector resource · U.S. direct submissions · USD

Compare card grading costs, estimated turnaround times and submission rules before sending your Pokémon, sports or other trading cards.

Last verified: October 17, 2026. Official sources are checked daily. Every provider below has its own verification date. Prices exclude shipping, tax and optional extras; turnaround times are estimates, not delivery promises.

Card grading prices at a glance

These are the lowest currently available standard grading tiers shown on the official pages we checked, subject to their minimums and card eligibility. They are not equivalent services. Scroll to the individual tables for alternatives.

PSA

$59.99 per card

Standard
90–100 business days estimated

$1,000 maximum insured value. Value and Value Bulk are paused.

Beckett (BGS)

$79.95 per card

Express
15 business days estimated

Only Express shows a submission link on the public pricing table. Other listed tiers are sold out.

CGC Cards

$17 per card

Bulk · 25-card minimum
150 business days estimated

$500 maximum value. Economy is $20/card for a smaller submission, with a 90-working-day estimate.

SGC

$50 per card

Standard
40+ business days estimated

$1,500 declared-value ceiling. Expedited service has different value brackets and fees.

TAG

$39.95 per card

Base · 5-card minimum
60 business days estimated

Includes $500 protection per card. This is a coverage amount, not a declared-value grading ceiling.

Availability can change before the next check. Dealer/group submissions, promotions, autograph authentication, crossovers and international offices may have different prices.

PSA grading fees and turnaround

PSA: selected service levels · checked October 17, 2026
Service USD/card Business days* Maximum insured value
Standard $59.99 90–100 $1,000
Priority $79.99 70–80 $1,500
Express $199 20–30 $2,500

Swipe the table sideways on a small screen. *Estimated working/business days.

Standard includes front-and-back imaging; Express adds grader notes. Check higher-value tiers directly with PSA. The open tiers shown here do not list a paid-membership requirement on the public pricing table.

Unavailable: Value and Value Bulk are temporarily paused. They are not included as bookable starting prices.

Check official PSA pricing and availability →

Beckett (BGS) grading fees and turnaround

Beckett (BGS): selected service levels · checked October 17, 2026
Service USD/card Business days* Value limit
Base, no subgrades — sold out $14.95 75+ Not published
Base, subgrades — sold out $17.95 75+ Not published
Standard — sold out $34.95 45 Not published
Express — available $79.95 15 Not published
Priority — sold out $124.95 5 Not published

Swipe the table sideways on a small screen. *Estimated working/business days.

Express includes subgrades for centering, corners, edges and surface. Listed extras include $5 for an autograph card and $8 for an oversized card. The public table does not specify a declared-value ceiling, membership requirement or card minimum; confirm those details in the submission terms. An unpublished limit does not mean unlimited coverage.

Check official Beckett (BGS) pricing and availability →

CGC Cards grading fees and turnaround

CGC Cards: selected service levels · checked October 17, 2026
Service USD/card Business days* Maximum value
Bulk · 25 cards minimum $17 150 $500
Economy $20 90 $1,000
Standard $55 10 $3,000
Express $100 5 $10,000

Swipe the table sideways on a small screen. *Estimated working/business days.

The table uses regular fees before member discounts. Associate and Premium members receive 10% off grading; Elite receives 20%. A higher assessed card value can move a submission into a higher-priced tier.

A free account can submit without a paid membership. Incomplete card descriptions can incur $5 per card. CGC submission FAQ.

Check official CGC Cards pricing and availability →

SGC grading fees and turnaround

SGC: selected service levels · checked October 17, 2026
Service USD/card Business days* Declared-value ceiling
Standard $50 40+ $1,500
Standard $85 40+ $3,500
Expedited $150 2–3 $3,500
Expedited $250 2–3 $7,500

Swipe the table sideways on a small screen. *Estimated working/business days.

These are standard-size card rates. Faster service is not offered at every value bracket, and higher-value cards have additional tiers. The published clock starts after cards are unboxed and logged into SGC’s system. The public table does not state a card minimum or paid-membership requirement; verify at submission.

SGC shipping fees · SGC grading scale

Check official SGC pricing and availability →

TAG grading fees and turnaround

TAG: selected service levels · checked October 17, 2026
Service USD/card Business days* Included protection
Base · 5 cards minimum $39.95 60 $500
Standard $59.95 45 $1,000
Priority $79.95 30 $1,500
Express $149.95 10 $2,500

Swipe the table sideways on a small screen. *Estimated working/business days.

TAG provides a digital grading report; Standard and above add a 1,000-point score. It states there are no value-based grading upcharges. Value/Bulk remains paused and availability is capacity-limited.

Eligibility matters: its current page excludes pre-1989 cards, Yu-Gi-Oh!, memorabilia cards and stock thicker than 50pt. Check language and category restrictions before ordering. Return shipping is additional.

Check official TAG pricing and availability →

How to choose a card grading company

Start with the card and your goal—not just the lowest advertised fee. We included TAG as a report-focused alternative alongside PSA, BGS, CGC and SGC; this is not a market-share ranking or an exhaustive directory.

  1. Check eligibility. Confirm the card’s year, game, language, dimensions, thickness, signature and any alterations are accepted. A service that fits modern Pokémon may not fit a vintage baseball card.
  2. Price your actual batch. A bulk rate is useful only when you meet the minimum with eligible cards. Include the annual membership cost if you are joining solely for a discount.
  3. Choose a realistic timeline. Use the current estimate for the tier you can actually book. Allow time for packing, shipping both ways and possible research delays.
  4. Decide what you want to learn. Compare overall grades, subgrades, grader notes and digital reports. Review examples from the service before paying for extras.
  5. If resale matters, compare exact sold cards. Match the set, card number, variation and grade. Look at several recent completed sales and selling costs; do not assume one company always earns more.
Our take: For a personal collection, presentation and useful condition information may matter most. For selling, the total submission cost and demand for your exact card deserve more weight. There is no single best grader for every collector.

What does card grading really cost?

Total submission cost = grading fees + shipping both ways + applicable coverage/insurance + tax + optional services + any membership or handling charges.

Divide the total by the number of cards you are actually submitting. Keep declared value separate from the grading fee: a service may use it to determine a tier, coverage or a later adjustment. TAG’s included protection amounts should not be read as the same thing as another company’s grading-value ceiling.

Example calculation only: ten cards at a hypothetical $25 grading fee, plus $40 combined shipping and other charges, cost $290 total—or $29 per card. A $25 headline fee alone would understate your cost.

Before joining a membership, divide its annual cost by the saving per card. That gives a rough break-even card count; confirm which tiers, promotions and credits actually qualify.

When does the turnaround clock start?

Business-day estimates exclude weekends and usually holidays. They are not door-to-door delivery dates. Receiving queues and research can also matter.

  • PSA: its November 20, 2025 policy update says the clock begins when an order arrives at a PSA facility. The pricing page still contains inconsistent start-point wording, so confirm with PSA if timing is critical.
  • CGC: estimates refer to submissions delivered to its facility today.
  • SGC: the clock starts after unboxing and system entry.
  • TAG: the pricing page measures estimates from intake.
  • BGS: the public pricing table gives estimates but does not clearly define the starting event. Confirm before planning around a deadline.

Card grading comparison: common questions

Which card grading service is cheapest?

For the selected available U.S. tiers checked above, CGC Bulk has the lowest base fee, but its 25-card minimum and value limit matter. For a smaller batch, compare Economy rather than assuming the bulk price applies. Shipping, membership discounts, card eligibility and sold-out tiers can change the result.

PSA vs. BGS: which should I choose?

Compare the service you can book, your card’s eligibility and the information you want on the label or report. BGS offers four condition subgrades; PSA includes imaging and offers grader notes on specified tiers. For resale, compare recent sold examples of your exact card instead of treating either brand as a guaranteed premium.

Is CGC or PSA better for Pokémon cards?

There is no universal answer. Identify the exact card, language and condition first, then compare eligible tiers, total cost, turnaround and recent sales in comparable grades. A collector keeping a favorite card may prefer a different holder or service from someone preparing inventory for sale.

Which grading company is fastest?

Compare currently available tiers, not a company’s fastest advertised tier if it is sold out. The tables show estimates with different prices and value limits. Allow for shipping and each company’s receiving process, and ask the grader directly about a firm event or sale deadline.

Do I need a membership to submit cards?

CGC explicitly allows submissions with a free account and offers optional paid discounts. Other services’ public tables do not always spell out membership rules. Check the official submission flow for your selected tier; do not assume a promotional or member price is open to everyone.

Is it worth grading a low-value card?

Compare the all-in grading cost with realistic outcomes in several grades—not just a perfect grade. Include selling fees if you plan to sell. For sentimental cards, authentication, presentation or condition documentation can be the reason to grade even when resale proceeds would not cover the cost.

Can I send cards through a local shop or group submitter?

Yes, where that dealer offers the service, but their quote is a separate comparison. Ask about shipping, insurance, declared-value adjustments, batch waiting time and who handles a loss or claim. This page compares direct U.S. pricing rather than dealer packages.

Sources, updates and editorial policy

This guide is maintained by PrismGuard Pro, a seller of card-protection products, not a grading company. The comparison uses public official service pages, not our own turnaround tests. Company links are provided as sources, and inclusion is not a paid ranking or a promise of resale value.

We check prices, estimated turnaround times, value limits, minimums and availability daily. If a source cannot be verified, its previous verified date stays visible and we flag the affected information instead of labeling it fresh. The submission provider’s current terms and final quote control.

Change log · October 17, 2026: First edition published with PSA, BGS, CGC, SGC and TAG. Paused/sold-out tiers are identified separately. The PSA clock-start wording conflict is disclosed above.

Keep up with releases and grading announcements in Hobby Brief, or browse our Card Protection Guide for caring for your collection after grading. Case compatibility depends on the holder’s actual dimensions.